Yamaha Star Stryker banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2016 Green Stryker. So this is my first time owning a matte black... anything and stupid me wore hiking boots to ride instead of my regular boots. Well my hiking boots had this little metal shoelace hook that scratched the crap out of some round thing on the left hand side (if you're sitting on the bike). The cap looks like it was a chrome cap covered in a black vinyl covering and the vinyl got scratched off to expose the chrome. Anyhow, I don't want to buy a new one, I was thinking of maybe having a custom sticker printed and applied but I think if it happened again with other shoes I'd be back to square one. Ideally i was thinking what is there was some rubber or plastic I could put on top of this. Anyhow, anyone have any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Sounds like plastidip. Is the bike new or did you buy it used? There are a lot of folks on here who have used plastidip on chrome parts.

·
Registered
75 Posts
You can take it off, there isnt anything behind it. Its a fake cover, took all my chrome engine parts off and painted them black. Repaint it or put some black vinyl would be my best guess. Plasti dip will rub off easy but I think where I painted mine hasnt so much as a scuff yet.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You can take it off, there isnt anything behind it. Its a fake cover, took all my chrome engine parts off and painted them black. Repaint it or put some black vinyl would be my best guess. Plasti dip will rub off easy but I think where I painted mine hasnt so much as a scuff yet.
There are 6 screws holding it in place. Are you serious when you say take it off, there is nothing behind it? It seems like it would be holding something in. Cuz I will totally pull it off, i just don't want to be trolled and end up dumping all my oil on the ground or whatever. Please tell me ur serious.

·
Registered
1,497 Posts