Yamaha Star Stryker banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased this fairing off Ebay after my bullet was dropped and cracked and I realized it would most likely not be able to be repaired. At first, I was searching for a replacement but got curious what the price difference would be for a batwing. Doing my research with Memphis Shades, Amazon and SSCustoms I ran across this one. It was about a $60 difference so I mulled it over for a couple weeks and pulled the trigger. I ordered it on a Thursday night and it was at my door the following Tuesday.

I have no experience with any other shield besides the bullet so my first impression was WTF? I clearly remember reading in the description that it was hand laid fiberglass. Why does it look like plastic in the box? Well, I pull it out and it might weigh 2 pounds. I thought I had been taken. As I look it over for any scratches or dings from shipping (packaged very well) I see that it is indeed a fiberglass shell with a plastic covering. So that made me feel a bit better.

batwing1.jpg

batwing2.jpg

batwing3.jpg

As you can see in the pics above, I hope, the edges are not tight and smooth forming to each other. After going back to some other forums and links I found on the internet I reread that this is common since it is hand laid and not done on a machine. So I guess a little sanding and body work may be in order. Like I say, have no experience with other 2-piece batwings like those on Harleys, Tsukaya or Reckless. Don't know if they are tight fitted at the seams or not either but I thought to myself - "Well, you are paying 1/3 or more what they cost".

clear shield.jpg

tinted shield.jpg